You can’t argue with that


I was driving the 12-year-old to school this morning. I may have launched into a light-hearted morning rant about how I woke both girls up before I started getting ready, showered, dressed, brushed my teeth, did my hair, took out the trash, did the dishes, and made two lunches and I was still ready before both of them. I don’t get it.

It was as I was finishing my rant that I noticed she was wearing a light spring jacket.

Me: “Are you not wearing a coat?”

Her: “This is a coat.”

Me: “That’s a jacket. This [pointing to my coat] is a coat. See this? [pointing to thermometer on the dashboard] Two. Six. That means its cold.”

Her: “So? Some people wear skirts or shorts or tank tops in this weather.”

Me: “Yeah. And if all your friends wore a bridge, would you wear one?”

Her: “Wear a bridge?!?”

Me: “Yeah! A bridge! Sounds pretty stupid, now, doesn’t it? So does wearing shorts in this weather!”

Her: [blank stare]

Me: “I feel like I won this argument.”

Science!

(Parents, feel free to use this on your own kids. Completely infallible logic.)

One thought on “You can’t argue with that

  1. As the mother of a preadolescent who feels wearing a coat at anything above 30 degrees F is wimpy, I sympathize:) But I think we were this stupid when we were young too.

Leave a Reply

