Need a light?


My stomach was feeling a little iffy this morning. No time to deal with it, though. I had to get the kids to school.

After getting the 10-year-old to the bus, I went back for the 12-year-old and headed to school.

I turned to her and said, “I may need to use your backpack.”

“Why?” she replied.

Me: “I’m feeling a little puky.”

She gave me a blank stare. Then she looked down at the plastic grocery bag containing my lunch.

Me: “Don’t even look at that. It’s my lunch,” I warned.

Her: “Why would you puke in my backpack?”

Me: “It holds more volume. Plus, you can wash your backpack. I can’t wash my bag.”

Her: “I…you can’t wash my binder. It has all my papers in it.”

Me: “You can recycle them.”

Her: “But…I need them.”

Me: “Need?”

Her: “Yes.”

Me: “Need?

Her: “If you want me to turn them in, yes.”

Me: “Need?? You know, if you say the word ‘need’ enough, it loses all meaning. Need. Need. Need.”

Her: “The same thing is true with ‘light.’ Light. Light. Light.”

Me: “Neeeeed.”

Her: “Light. Light. Light.”

Me: “Neeeeeeed.”

Her: “Light. Light. Light.”

Me: “Neeeeeeed.”

Her: “Light. Light. Light.”

Me: “Neeeeeeed.”

This literally went on for about 5 minutes, until we got the school.

Her: “Light. Light. Light.”

Me: “Neeeeeeed. Seriously, though. I need your backpack.”

Her: “I’m outta here.”

There’s no way she’s not really mine.

Leave a comment